Why Do I Keep Returning to Titanfall 2?

Titanfall 2 released on October 28th, 2016 for the PS4, Xbox One, and Origin on PC.

On the day that I am writing this, it is the 15th of May 2017, and I still find myself picking up the game every few days in between playing Persona 5 and Nier Automata.

Why is this? What does Titanfall 2 do so well that keeps me coming back for more online multiplayer action? I’d like to answer this question with a few reasons as to why I find Respawn Entertainment’s latest game so enticing.

titanfall-2

Firstly, and perhaps most importantly, the game is extremely satisfying to play. Running at a buttery smooth 60 frames-per-second on all platforms compliments the fast reflexes required for the constant jumping and shooting you’ll be doing as a Pilot. Pulling off just the right angle for a well-timed grappling hook shot can mean the difference between life or death as you propel yourself through the sky, shooting down baddies and dodging their returning fire. Or better yet, use your grappling hook to pull an enemy pilot to your position and kick them in the noggin, sending the enemy flying. The combination of fast aerial movement, double-jumping, and utilizing your grappling hook makes for many memorable moments as you fling yourself through the sky. The grappling hook isn’t the only effective Pilot ability in your arsenal, but it has grown to become my favorite of the bunch. The high-speed thrills of running fast with a stim ability usage is another favorite pilot skill of mine, as it allows for incredibly-large jumps through the air to gain the advantage on your enemy. There have been so many moments – no, too many moments to count – that have had my jaw hang open with the awesome action that was happening both around me, and because of my actions. Your actions on the battlefield as a Pilot offer an adrenaline rush like no other online shooter. 

lego-titanfall

Secondly, future map packs for Titanfall 2 are completely free of charge. This is a somewhat recent trend among games with large online communities, and it is one that I welcome with open arms. It ensures the player base is unfragmented by paid DLC barring entry for players unwilling to pay extra money for maps, thus improving the longevity of a game’s online community. It’s unfortunate that another EA game from last year did not follow this trend (Battlefield 1) but I am very happy to see that Titanfall 2 has taken a more consumer-friendly approach.

 

Thirdly, it is extremely fast and easy to hop into an online match and begin playing. Depending on the game mode, online matches can be completed anywhere from 8-12 minutes, offering many opportunities to feel like a badass as a Pilot. This is in stark contrast to the other EA title that I mentioned earlier, Battlefield 1. While I have enjoyed the online matches of BF1 that I have played, the initial load time for the game’s first battle can be a bit on the lengthy end. I found myself sitting on the futon for a solid two minutes before the game finally finished loading. Thankfully, this hasn’t been the case every time I have played the game, but it definitely makes me second guess booting the game up (for context, I’m playing on a PS4 Pro. I’m not sure how the load times compare on other platforms).

 

Lastly, I know this is commonly part of the praise that the game receives when it is brought up, but I have enjoyed Titanfall 2’s single-player campaign enough to have finished it three times. It is not a very long campaign, but it encourages replayability via the multiple routes that can be taken in most levels to take down the enemy. I also found the writing and set-pieces to be solid and engaging enough to want to experience them multiple times.

tf2 ye

There’s multiple reasons why Titanfall 2 was my game of the year 2016, but this short piece summarized some of the biggest reasons why I keep returning to play this game into the next year. As long as Respawn continues to provide support for their incredible game, I can see myself playing Titanfall 2 for even more months to come.

Now excuse me, but it’s time for me to hop back into the pilot seat at least once more.

Thanks for reading!

  • Matt

 

Leave a Reply

