Persona 5 – I’ve Played 70 Hours, Here’s My Impressions So Far (No Spoilers)

  • Just for reference: I am currently about 70 hours through the main game, and am halfway through the sixth palace.

Man, I’ve been waiting for this game for quite some time. This year marked the release of a ton of fantastic games, but Persona 5 is a title that has been on my most-anticipated list for years. Remember the initial release window that Atlus announced?

P5 initial release date

My, how time has flied by.

Waiting for this game was not quite so painful for me as it was for other fans, because my only other Persona experience is in Persona 4 Golden released for the PlayStation Vita. It is a fantastic game, and left me wanting to see more from the series. Since the announcement of Persona 5, I have been avoiding any and all online coverage of the game beyond the intro cinematic trailer that debuted what feels like years ago.

After sinking 100+ hours into P4G, I knew what I was getting into when I started up P5. The crazy premise for the protagonist to begin his wacky adventure, the enjoyable and fun cast of characters, the stylish menus – and man, are those menus stylish as hell – are all present in this latest entry. Even though the core formula is the same – level up your protagonist through battles, build your relationship with friends you meet along the way, and fuse collected personas – it does not feel at all repetitive, thanks to the simply astounding menu design that takes place. From the battle selection all the way to managing inventory items, pressing the directional buttons to navigate your way through boxes never before felt so satisfying.

P5 wallpaper

Characters and enemies all have a satisfying pop to them that helps their appearance stand out and give weight to each battle, and every action performed is straightforward and quick. The loading times outside of the initial game load are extremely short, and I have yet to run into any bugs or glitches, as expected. This game is polished to a fine sheen, and it shows very quickly upon starting up.

The plot device for the game’s narrative to progress forward is both captivating and very different from the quiet introduction of Persona 4’s story; as someone who thought that the pace of P4’s beginning was a bit sluggish, seeing P5 start out strong is an exciting change. Having played P4G before this game, working with the persona fusions is easier to understand and still a lot of fun. I can definitely understand where confusion for newcomers may lie, and it is good to see that the game does an even better job of explaining persona fusions this time around.

P5 steelbook cover

I wish I could say that I have been taking my time with this game, but that is not entirely the case. Upon Persona 5’s western release on April 4th, 2017, I dumped a disgusting amount of time playing the game within the first week. Since then, I have taken a step back and done other activities to step my life forward, but I’m still steadily trucking through this (so far) fantastic new entry in the Persona series.

“This is a really amazing time for video games.” I’ve heard that phrase uttered a few times during different podcasts I listen to over the past few weeks, and it could not be any more true. There’s truly something for everybody; and if you like Japanese games, this is a dream come true. I still have to make time to play (and save up money) for Nier: Automata, Resident Evil 7, Gravity Rush 2, Yakuza Zero, and Mario Kart 8: Deluxe. I’ll be posting here in the near future about my thoughts on other games that I’ll be playing, but if you want to let me know your thoughts on what you’ve been playing, I’d love to hear it. Or, if you want to give me your thoughts on my writing, that is also appreciated. I always look for new ways to improve.

Thanks for reading! Have a wonderful week.

  • Matt
Leave a Reply

