Black Friday 2016 Pickups!

Hey everyone! I hope you’ve all had a great Thanksgiving and found yourselves some sweet deals this holiday – I know I’ve found a few solid sales on games I’ve had my eye on, which I’ll talk about here.

Oddly enough, I haven’t actually bought any hard copies of games or anything – all of my shopping so far has been digital and been worth much less than what I’ve spent in previous years. This is a bit of a change of pace for me, so I usually hop for physical media. Anyway, let’s get into it!

  1. Mad Max (PS4)

    mad-max

I’ve had my eye on this game for what feels like ages. The only reason I didn’t pick it up sooner was due the game releasing on the same day as Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain from last year, and at the time, my level of excitement for MGSV was through the roof. As a huge Mad Max fan, and after having watched Mad Max: Fury Road about six times, I’m looking forward to seeing what the game has to offer; and at $7.99 on the PlayStation Store, I couldn’t resist.

  1. Mega Man Legacy Collection (PS4)

    mega-man

I’ve been looking at this one for a while, in addition to Mad Max. Having never fully beaten Mega Man 2, I knew this was my best chance to finish that game and experience the other classic games in the long-running series. The only other Mega Man games that I’ve played and completed are Mega Man 9 and Mega Man 10, so I’ve got some experience in the blue bomber’s field of platforming.

  1. Pac-Man Championship Edition 2 (PS4)

    pac-man

I played the demo for this game when it launched, and absolutely adored what it has to offer. The rapid speed of Pac-Man and the ghosts sprinting across each stage gave me a feeling of adrenaline that nowadays few games can achieve, which is why I’ve questioned until now why I didn’t download this game sooner. Despite this, the game is very solid, as I expected. After playing about an hour or so the other day, I only have one gripe – so far, it seems as if the only notable music track in the game is the first track, with the others sounding rather bland. I could be wrong, as I have yet to finish the game, and I’m hoping the rest of the music can reach the high bar that the first track achieves.

  1. The Legend of Zelda: Link’s Awakening DX (3DS)

zelda-links-awakening

Okay, okay.. When I said earlier that I was waiting to play Mad Max for what felt like ages, that is nothing compared to how long I’ve felt waiting to play this game. Link’s Awakening has always been in my backlog, but for some poor reason or another, I kept pushing it off and forgetting to start the game up. Well, I noticed on the Nintendo eShop that it was offered for just a couple of bucks, and I couldn’t say no. After playing a little bit of the game, I can already tell that I’ll enjoy this one. I’m a bit of a sucker for Game Boy titles because I grew up in the era of Gameboy Color games, and fondly remember the simple graphics and pixel music.

  1. Battlefield 1 (PS4)

    bf1-spongebob

So I have not actually began playing this game, because it hasn’t arrived on my doorstep quite yet. I saw Amazon was offering the PS4 version for $27, and after hearing a bunch of praise for both the campaign and the tried-and-true Battlefield multiplayer, I knew I had to dive in. I invested a lot of time into Battlefield 3 and Battlefield 4, so I was rather cautious leading up to this game’s launch. I decided not to spring for it at release, instead grabbing Titanfall 2 (which I think is for the best – like I mentioned in a previous write-up, that game is VERY good!) but now I’m looking forward to playing the newest entry in this long-running series. I’m still in awe that a World War 1 first-person shooter was created for the triple-A video gaming market in 2016; if you told me a few years ago during the modern military shooter craze that EA, of all companies, would be doing this in 2016, I’d have called you crazy. Doesn’t make me any less happy about this fresh territory for the shooter market!

Anyway, that’s all I got for now. Perhaps some upcoming deals on Monday will pique my interest.. We’ll see! Let me know if you picked up anything this past Friday or across the week leading up to Thanksgiving. Again, thanks for reading. Buh bye for now!

  • Matt
Leave a Reply

