THOUGHTS ON – Titanfall 2

I was originally going to do an entire write-up of both the single player and multiplayer of Titanfall 2, spanning two written pieces each containing the best and worst things that each one accomplishes. However, after several days of being unhappy with what I’ve written each time I sit down at the computer, I think a change in the style of this write-up is necessary.

Instead of writing a traditional review of the game, I’ll just talk about the pros and cons of Titanfall 2 that stand out to me. With that said, I’m not entirely sure if this should even be filed within the “review” category or not… Maybe an opinion piece is more appropriate. Anyway, here we go!

titanfall-2

The shooting feels solid, running and jumping between walls makes you feel like a badass, and grappling onto titans to rip out their batteries is satisfying, both in single player and multiplayer. I was wary of using the grappling hook leading up to release, but the combination of sprinting, wall-running, double-jumping, and grapple-hooking makes for an exhilarating set of abilities given to you, with even more traversal options available aside from the ones I mentioned.

I think the best way to define the moment-to-moment gameplay of Titanfall 2 is to describe it as a mix between the solid shooting of Call of Duty, the parkour acrobatics from Mirror’s Edge, and throw in giant robots controlled by humans and robots alike for good measure. Obviously there are many mechanical differences than just the ones described, but if I had to describe Titanfall 2 in a single sentence, that would most likely be it. Throughout the campaign, you’ll pick up temporary gadgets or abilities that help define each level, and each one stands out well in my head, even after playing the campaign only once. I’ll be doing a second playthrough in the near-future.

By now, the people who are interested in Titanfall 2 probably know most, if not all of the details surrounding the game, so I’ll just mention one more point here.

The addition of boss fights in the game’s campaign is, in two words, fucking awesome.

Each new boss shit-talks you, Jack Cooper, as well as your titan, BT-7274. I wish each boss was more fleshed out, especially due to some of them only having a few voice lines before being decimated by you and your titan. However, their addition makes each chapter more memorable, and made me look forward to what the next boss brought to the table. The only major complaint I have about the boss fights involves the second to last boss encounter, against a guy named Viper. This guy is my favorite of the bunch, but also the most frustrating. The difficulty spike between him and the other bosses feels a bit off, because the rest of the boss encounters is not too difficult. However, Viper required many tries for me to best him. Side note: my first playthrough of Titanfall 2 was on the hard difficulty mode. The game felt very-well balanced during this experience, aside from the boss fight that I just mentioned.

lego-titanfall

All right, I have to end this write-up before I go mad. I’ve had difficulty over the past week writing up my thoughts on why I enjoy Titanfall 2 so much, but this is a quick summary of what I enjoyed. I’ll be writing another post this week on something that I’ve been meaning to mention for a little while now, so I’m looking forward to that! I hope that if you’ve made it this far, you’re looking forward to my new piece as well.

Well, that about does it. I hope your week is great, and take care! Thank you for reading.

  • Matt
5 thoughts on “THOUGHTS ON – Titanfall 2

  1. Paul-NL

    I loved this game so much. The campaign was the right amount of ham and it was short enough to not wear out it’s welcome. Sure, BF1 and COD are the bigger names this season, but TF2 is by far my favorite shooter this year!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Mad Matt Post author

      I’m glad to hear other people are enjoying the game as much as I have! In a world filled with many, MANY new game releases, I appreciate a short-ish campaign that didn’t wear out its welcome. Have you played Doom this year? That was another FPS title that really picked up my interest.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Paul-NL

        Yeah, Doom was a blast to play! Being a working games has really impacted how much free time I have for myself to invest into games these days I’d love to put 200 hours into Fallout 4, but I just don’t have the time and so I end up skipping these experiences. Shorter campaigns like Doom, Titanfall 2 and even games like Tomb Raider and Uncharted are really what I have time for these days.

        That said, do you share your posts on any other websites? I work over at Creators .Co (we’re part of Movie Pilot and Now Loading) and this is the sort of content that makes for an interesting read. If you were open to the idea of posting your work on our sites in addition to also having your blog/site here, I’d be more than happy to help you get started. My e-mail and more info can be found on my page. (o^.^)b

        Like

      2. Mad Matt Post author

        I hadn’t thought of sharing to other websites yet, but that sounds interesting. I’ll give it some thought and give Now Loading a look and let you know! Thanks for the offer.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

