I’m Back! Including Thoughts On the Nintendo Switch

Hi everyone! Long time, no see. After a long hiatus, I’m back and will be writing and uploading new blog posts on this page. I don’t know if anyone who previously visited my posts will still be here and have interest in checking out my new thoughts, but if you are, I appreciate your contribution.

To anyone new here, welcome! Thanks for taking the time to check out my WordPress blog. As you can tell from my profile biography, I enjoy talking about and discussing topics within the gaming industry, but occasionally I’ll post news about my personal life here as well. Enjoy!

Anyway, onto my main topic of discussion. The recently revealed Nintendo Switch, formerly known as the NX. If you weren’t aware, the long-famous video game company Nintendo announced their newest foray into the console (and handheld!) gaming space with their first-ever showing of the Nintendo Switch, a hybrid console/handheld that looks to bridge the gap between people that enjoy playing games on the go, as well as those who prefer to sit on the sofa in front of a television.

n-switch

Although the Switch been discussed everywhere across the internet the past few days, I just want to give a couple of quick thoughts about the system and the potential it holds for the future. This is, if you ask me, the best direction Nintendo could have taken for their newest console. With this reveal comes the assumption that the DS line of systems is finished with the 3DS, and the Wii line of home consoles will be coming to a close as well. That means Nintendo will have one platform to focus on, developing all of their titles onto the home console and handheld hybrid, allowing all Nintendo fans to play every game they release (excluding the mobile-exclusive Animal Crossing, Fire Emblem, and Super Mario Run games they have releasing for iPhone and Android). Actually, I could be wrong on that front; maybe Nintendo plans to release all of their mobile games onto the Switch as well. It’d make sense, given that the system can be considered a portable device, but the release of those games on other platforms remains to be seen.

Anyway, I think the shift in focus from two systems like with the 3DS and Wii U to just one gaming device, the Switch, marks a turning point for both Nintendo and its fans. No longer do fans have to justify buying one system over the other, and hopefully this means that the company can keep a steady release window of games on the system, avoiding software droughts that the Wii and Wii U have faced.

There are still a lot of details I’d like to hear, including battery life of the system, what games will be available on launch day, the extent of local and online multiplayer, and of course, the price of the final unit. All of this will come early in 2017, I believe, from Nintendo’s recent claims that the three minute trailer we’ve seen will be all that will be shown in 2016. This is a bit of a bummer, because we’re all excited to hear more about the system, but I trust Nintendo knows what they’re doing. The company seems very bullish about their new foray into the HD console/handheld space.

maro-creep

In closing, I’m very excited to hear more about the Nintendo Switch, and although it isn’t a guaranteed sale from me quite yet, I’m very impressed by what Nintendo has shown off so far. Let me know your thoughts in the comments! Thank you for reading.

  • Matt
Leave a Reply

