I’ve Entered the World of PC Gaming

These past few weeks, I was considering replacing my laptop with a more powerful one. Seeing as Killer Instinct on PC is nearing release (I hope!) I figured now was a better time than ever to splurge on a brand-new computer. I had been rocking an old 2008 Samsung notebook for about seven years, and when the thing started to have trouble playing YouTube videos at 60FPS, I had a feeling it was time for an upgrade.

MSI notebook

I’d considered building my own tower, but then a friend of mine recommended I check out the MSI line of notebooks. My current living situation at the moment is a bit up in the air, and if for some reason I needed to find a new place to stay, lugging over the tower might have been a hassle. With that in mind, I decided to look into the notebooks that my friend recommended. MSI seems to offer a great number of solid notebooks, with many of them receiving high marks from critics.

I wanted something that can play recent releases, as well as a couple of upcoming titles that I’m eager to check out in the future (Killer Instinct and Gears of War Remastered immediately come to mind). However, I still keep my PlayStation 4 and Wii U close to heart; they’ll most likely remain my two main gaming platforms in the years to come, with some PC gaming on the side.

MSI notebook 2

The notebook that I decided to purchase is the MSI GE62 APACHE-002, with a 15.6 inch display. So far, I’m really enjoying this computer. Every game I’ve ran on here works flawlessly. Also, Windows 10 just released, and after installing and playing around with the new update, I can say that it is miles ahead of Windows 8. A clean interface with (mostly) easy to navigate menus make this update pretty slick. Plus, it was free, so that’s cool. Only issue I’ve encountered so far is the lowered resolution of the Steam app; for whatever reason, when I open up Steam, the application’s resolution is much lower than that of what it used to be. It’s very odd because Steam is the only application affected by this issue. I’ve tried finding a solution online, to no luck. Hopefully I can find a fix soon.

Steam sales are going to be the end of me (again).

Steam sale spongebob

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

