E3 2015 – My Favorite Games of the Show

Hey everyone! This post is a bit late, seeing as E3 2015 was last month, but here are my favorite games of the show, in no particular order, except for my game of the show at the end. Here we goooo!

Cuphead1

  • Cuphead: This game debuted during Microsoft’s E3 2014 press conference in a brief snippet showing co-op gameplay, but this year the developers behind Cuphead showed even more gameplay, proving to any doubters that this game is BEAUTIFUL. The visuals in this game are phenomenal, and dare I say it, one of my favorites yet in gaming. Screenshots don’t do this title justice, and I urge you all to watch a video of the game in action. I grew up watching old Mickey Mouse cartoons, and seeing a game utilize that similar visual style was very refreshing. I hope we see another title or two attempt to replicate the classic Disney-esque art that Cuphead achieves. Right now the game is slated for a PC + Xbox One release, and I’m hoping Wii U and PS4 owners can get a taste of this artistic little title.

    Star Wars Battlefront Gameplay Shot

  • Star Wars: Battlefront: I still have my doubts about this game, but Dice has piqued my interest. I think we’ve all been waiting for a solid new Star Wars game for quite a while now, and for those interested in classic Battlefront and new Battlefield games, this title seems to scratch the itch for both types of fans. The manual on-the-fly switch between first and third person viewpoints is a welcome addition, and as I former Battlefield fanatic, I am looking forward to see what Dice does in the Star Wars universe with the expertise they’ve accumulated from Battlefield.Fulgore
  • Killer Instinct and D4 (PC releases): Yes, Microsoft. Yes, good. Keep pumping out those Xbox + PC releases! As someone who had very little interest in purchasing an Xbox One (personal preference), seeing two of my favorite games on the system make their way to the PC is very welcome. D4 was one of my favorite titles of last year, and Killer Instinct is a blast to learn the mechanics of each fighter. I’m highly anticipating the release of Killer Instinct on PC, and waiting to purchase D4 on PC. Right now, my backlog is rather large. I should probably upgrade my rig in time for Killer Instinct…

And now, my game of the show.

Horizon zero dawn shot 1

Horizon: Zero Dawn: Aside from my displeasure with this game’s title, Horizon: Zero Dawn looks like an awesome addition to the PS4 lineup in 2016. Guerrilla Games has been working on the Killzone franchise for the past ten years, so seeing them invest work into a brand new IP is very nice.

I enjoy the Killzone franchise for the most part, but even I was getting tired of the series.
Aloy, this new game’s protagonist, quips witty lines as she battles giant mechanical beasts hell-bent on destroying her kind. The game’s setting and atmosphere appears top-notch, with gameplay focused on bows and many different types of arrows to fire. I feel like this weaponry is a solid choice, because machine guns and other heavy weaponry might feel a bit out of place within the tribe that Aloy is part of. Time will tell what other types of weaponry will be available, but after hearing about the game’s reported four-plus years of development time thus far, I’m extremely excited to see and hear more about this ambitious title. Also, it’s a single-player focused title! Hooray!

Anyway, that’s my list. What were your favorite games from E3 2015? Let me know in the comments below or via my Twitter handle @matt_mancuso12.

Thanks for reading! Have a great weekend, everyone.

Leave a Reply

