Quick Thoughts: Mortal Kombat X

Hey everyone! I picked up my own copy of Mortal Kombat X for PS4 at a Gamestop midnight launch the other night. I’ve not yet finished the story mode (reached chapter 10) but I’ve been playing around with some of my favorite characters from previous MK games to see how they handle in the new game.

MKX Sub Zero

I’ll start right off by saying that the three variations given to each fighter is a genius decision that both feels meaningful to players, and cuts corners for the developers. It’s as if a designer said “Listen, we have a bunch of cool ideas for new moves, but we don’t have the time/resources to create more characters to accompany them. How about we place these cool new moves into one of three variations players can choose from among the current fighters?” This way, players get more choices on how to play the game, while the developers are able to implement their new attack ideas with existing characters.

Although there’s a bunch of fan-favorite fighters returning, the brand new characters are also very appealing. D’Vorra, Ferra/Torr, and Kotal Kahn are all fighters that I can see becoming popular in the competitive scene, each providing unique playstyles to offset each other. Ferra/Torr in particular interests me because as a duo, these fighters, to an extent, rely on each other to win a fight. Certain moves are unable to be pulled off unless the two of them are together, and so it creates interesting scenarios where the player must decide to use a move that requires both fighters together, or apart.

This game is SUPER fast-paced compared to Mortal Kombat (2011). I wasn’t expecting a speed increase of this caliber, and although I haven’t quite gotten used to the faster nature of fighting, I’m very much enjoying the depth that each character and stage is bringing to the table.

MKX Kitana

I’ll leave my thoughts there. I’m off to play some more MKX. Give this game a shot if you enjoyed previous Mortal Kombat games! It pays a lot of homage to previous characters in the series, and as a fighting game standing on its own, it is a solid experience. I’m looking forward to messing around with all of the characters soon, but right now I’ll be focusing on my two favorite from previous MK games: Sub-Zero and Kitana. Too bad Kabal isn’t playable, as I’d probably be choosing him as well!

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

