New 3DS XL Impressions – One Month Later

A bit over a month ago, I decided to finally bite the bullet and pick up my own 3DS. With the release of The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask 3D, I knew if there was any one game that would convince me to pick up a 3DS system, that game would be it! As expected I’m thoroughly enjoying my time in Termina, the land where this game takes place. I’m very impressed with the remastered visuals and gameplay enhancements added to this title, and this is coming from a big fan of the original release on the Nintendo 64. Great game all around, and definitely a good reason to pick up any system in the 3DS family (however, that second analog nub has proven quite useful on many occasion).

Majora's Mask moon & skull kid

However since the New 3DS XL launch, I’ve expanded my game library beyond just Majora’s Mask 3D. Here’s a list of the titles I currently have on my system.

– Star Fox 64 3D
– The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask 3D
– The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
– Luigi’s Mansion: Dark Moon
– Super Mario 3D Land
– Phoenix Wright: Dual Destinies
– Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate

Mask salesman

I won’t list my full impressions of each game here, but I will say that I’ve been enjoying each of the titles that I have downloaded thus far. Out of all of them, I’ve been having the most fun with Star Fox 64 3D. The original Star Fox 64 on the N64 is one of my all-time favorites, and I had no problem paying for this game once again to play it on-the-go. Just like with Majora’s Mask, the enhanced visuals and improved mechanics show that Nintendo knows how to release a remastered game for a new generation. I may give my impressions of Star Fox 64 3D at a later date, but all that needs to be said right now is that I absolutely love this scene, and anyone who says it is bad should feel bad. No, I’m not that harsh… But seriously, I love the voice acting in this game, even if the new voice actor for Falco isn’t as strong as the Falco we saw in the original N64 release. Slippy is still the good ol’ pal that we know and love (or hate) and Peppy is… Well, just being Peppy. Do a barrel roll.

So, yeah. The 3DS is pretty awesome, and it’s got a ton of great games that I have yet to get around to. Also, Monster Hunter is super addicting.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

