Why I Love The Binding of Isaac: Rebirth

Binding of Isaac Rebirth

The Binding of Isaac is a game that first released on Steam in 2011. Back then, I was playing a ton of Super Meat Boy, and followed all future game developments that occurred by the folks at Team Meat. When I heard that Edmund McMillen was working on a rogue-like Zelda-inspired indie title, I was immediately interested. For the low price of $5, I purchased The Binding of Isaac, not knowing what exactly to expect from this game. 75+ hours later, it ended up being my favorite game of 2011. Each play-through of the game’s many dungeons was different than the rest, holding my interest throughout each run. Reading online about the game’s many item pickups and trinkets kept me entertained even when I wasn’t playing the game. Shout-out to the folks over at The Binding of Isaac wiki page who put together descriptions for each item in the game. The dark and foreboding nature of the game fascinated and disgusted me, with frequent references to religion, depression, and poop. Yep, there’s a lot of poop in this game.

Three years later, and The Binding of Isaac: Rebirth, sequel to The Binding of Isaac is released as a free PlayStation Plus title for November. There was no question that I would download this game as soon as it hit the online store, but receiving it as part of the Instant Game Collection was the icing on the cake.
The Binding of Isaac: Rebirth_20141111224216

The random nature of item pickups and room layouts keeps me fascinated throughout each play-through, and the addition of saving and loading current runs is a much welcome feature. Rebirth has a ton of new item pickups in addition to the ones released as part of the original title, and the updated art style has me even more pleased with the game’s visuals. I was never a huge fan of the original game’s flash game-esque graphics, so I’m happy that Edmund and the team opted for a more retro, bit-based look for the release of Rebirth. I’ve been playing The Binding of Isaac: Rebirth since its release in November, and I can safely say I’ll be playing this one for many months to come.

4 thoughts on “Why I Love The Binding of Isaac: Rebirth

    1. tennis12master Post author

      This is quite late, but I’m revisiting your comment because I just today found what you mean by the Key Door. Are you talking about when you reach the “chest” floor, and you open that large door and face Mega Satan?

      Like

      Reply
      1. Prof.mcstevie

        Yes, the same door that is also in the Dark Room. I was expecting something that took Ed Mcmillans art style to a whole new level…..instead we got an uninspired boss.

        Like

Leave a Reply

